Who’s In?

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has revealed its class of 2020. Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode, Whitney Houston, The Notorious B.I.G., T. Rex, and The Doobie Brothers are all to be inducted during a ceremony held in May.

Dave Matthews Band, who won the fan vote, have to wait another year before their possible inclusion into the Rock Hall, as will fellow finalists Soundgarden, Judas Priest, Motörhead, Kraftwerk, Thin Lizzy, and Todd Rundgren.

A committee of 1,000 artists, historians, and music industry members, as well as a fan vote, determined next year’s Rock Hall class. In order to be eligible, a nominee’s first recording must have been released at least 25 years ago.

Depeche Mode’s inducted lineup includes Andy Fletcher, Dave Gahan, and Martin Gore, along with original keyboardist Vince Clarke and his replacement, Alan Wilder, who left the group in 1995. Wilder reunited with Depeche Mode for a guest appearance in 2010, but Clarke hasn’t played with the band since 1981.

For over a decade, Houston proved one of the Hall of Fame’s most egregious snubs, as she’s been eligible for induction since 2010. She’s certainly a deserving candidate, given that she is the only artist to chart seven consecutive No. 1 Billboard Hot 100 hits, including the best-selling by a female artist in history (“I Will Always Love You”). Fortunately, Houston will finally get her due.

The Doobie Brothers’ induction comes as the band celebrates its 50th anniversary with a reunion tour alongside former singer Michael McDonald. In a statement, Tom Johnston said, “I can’t imagine a better start to our 50th year than by being inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. We’ll be celebrating with an amazing tour, all while realizing our dream of becoming Rock & Roll Hall of Famers. Earning the recognition of our peers is a great honor that I don’t take lightly, but it’s our fans who kept us believing that we could get in. This is a stellar moment for The Doobie Brothers.”

The induction ceremony will take on May 2nd at the Public Hall in Cleveland, Ohio and air live on HBO.




Tejay Schwartz

Morning Drive Jock at GM Broadcasting / 102.5 The Vault. -- I was born in Denmark and moved to the US with my family when I was 3. I grew up in Upstate NY and have lived here since. I graduated from JC High school and Sullivan County Community. I'm working The 102.5 The Vault Morning Show as well as traffic (scheduling commercials).